J.U.M.P started as a little experiment in Unity3D earlier this year.

First off, I use Unity3D on my daily job, and it was my first encounter with C#. I used to and still do code in C/C++, and so was a bit lost when I had to switch and also not very productive (in regards with my productivity in C++). 

I wanted to play with the integrated physics and in the same time try to learn and practice more C# stuffs.

Knowing that I'm not at all an artist, I looked for something very simple graphic wise, and end up playing with cubes and cylinders

I quickly came up with the spring idea, as it was quite natural to play with rigidbody, joints and physical materials

Then, contrary to all my previous home projects, when I usually get to where I learned or succesfully achieved what I was looking for, I decided to get it finished and hopefully can make some money out of it. 

Adding platforms was the next step, with bumper all over the place and somewhere to go.

As I don't have many hours to play per day, and lot of people like me neither, I came up with  the idea of small rooms to complete in less than 3 minutes, so I can play at least my game when I have 5 minutes free. While I like the small room idea, I feel the need to still have something like a 'world', so I just make the room connected to each others. While in the current version it is still not very likely you ever notice it, I plan to change that soon, so you can see how all the rooms are connected together and are correctly arranged in 3D

But what is a platformer if you don't have something to collect all around : something boring ! So I added coins and time bonuses.

That were the ideas from the first month ( remember, I only work on J.U.M.P only in my commute time and sometimes in the evening )


So J.U.M.P was born



Leave a Reply.